snowkings logo

Ski World Championships - Men's Downhill Champions

The list of winners of the Men's Downhill since the event was first run in 1931 are as follows:

Year Venue Gold Silver Bronze
2013 Schladming Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway) Domink Paris (Italy) David Poisson (France)
2011 Garmisch-Partenkirchen Erik Guay (Canada) Didier Cuche (Switzerland) Christof Innerhofer (Italy)
2009 Val d'Isere John Kucera (Canada) Didier Cuche (Switzerland) Carlo Janka (Switzerland)
2007 Are Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway)
2005 Bormio Bode Miller (USA)
2003 St. Moritz Michael Walchhofer (Austria)
2001 St. Anton Hannes Trinkl (Austria)
1999 Vail Hermann Maier (Austria)
1997 Sestriere Bruno Kernen (Switzerland)
1996 Sierra Nevada Patrick Ortlieb (Austria)
1993 Morioka Urs Lehmann (Switzerland)
1991 Saalbach Franz Heinzer (Switzerland)
1989 Vail Hans-Jorg Tauscher (Germany)
1987 Crans-Montana Peter Müller (Switzerland)
1985 Bormio Pirmin Zurbriggen (Switzerland)
1982 Schladming Harti Weirather (Austria)
1980 Lake Placid Leonhard Stock (Austria)
1978 Garmisch Josef Walcher (Austria)
1976 Innsbruck Franz Klammer (Austria)
1974 St. Moritz David Zwilling (Austria)
1972 Sapporo Bernhard Russi (Switzerland)
1970 Val Gardena Bernhard Russi (Switzerland)
1968 Grenoble Jean-Claude Killy (France)
1966 Portillo Jean-Claude Killy (France)
1964 Innsbruck Egon Zimmermann (Austria)
1962 Chamonix Karl Schranz (Austria)
1960 Squaw Valley Jean Vuarnet (France)
1958 Badgastein Anton Sailer (Austria)
1956 Cortina Anton Sailer (Austria)
1954 Åre Christian Pravda (Austria)
1952 Oslo Zeno Colò (Italy)
1950 Aspen Zeno Colò (Italy)
1948 St. Moritz Henri Oreiller (France)
1941 Cortina
1939 Zakopane Hellmut Lantschner (Germany)
1938 Engelberg James Couttet (France)
1937 Chamonix Émile Allais (France)
1936 Innsbruck Rudolf Rominger (Switzerland)
1935 Mürren Franz Zingerle (Austria)
1934 St. Moritz David Zogg (Switzerland)
1933 Innsbruck Walter Prager (Switzerland)
1932 Cortina Gustav Lantschner (Austria)
1931 Mürren Walter Prager (Switzerland)

Ski World Championships - Most Successful Men's Downhill Skiers

Golds Skier Years
2 Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway) 2007 2013
2 Anton Sailer (Austria) 1956 1958
2 Bernhard Russi (Switzerland) 1970 1972
2 Jean-Claude Killy (France) 1966 1968
2 Walter Prager (Switzerland) 1931 1933
2 Zeno Colò (Italy) 1950 1952
1 Bode Miller (USA) 2005
1 Bruno Kernen (Switzerland) 1997
1 Christian Pravda (Austria) 1954
1 David Zogg (Switzerland) 1934
1 David Zwilling (Austria) 1974
1 Egon Zimmermann (Austria) 1964
1 Émile Allais (France) 1937
1 Erik Guay (Canada) 2011
1 Franz Heinzer (Switzerland) 1991
1 Franz Klammer (Austria) 1976
1 Franz Zingerle (Austria) 1935
1 Gustav Lantschner (Austria) 1932
1 Hannes Trinkl (Austria) 2001
1 Hans-Jorg Tauscher (Germany) 1989
1 Harti Weirather (Austria) 1982
1 Hellmut Lantschner (Germany) 1939
1 Henri Oreiller (France) 1948
1 Hermann Maier (Austria) 1999
1 James Couttet (France) 1938
1 Jean Vuarnet (France) 1960
1 John Kucera (Canada) 2009
1 Josef Walcher (Austria) 1978
1 Karl Schranz (Austria) 1962
1 Leonhard Stock (Austria) 1980
1 Michael Walchhofer (Austria) 2003
1 Patrick Ortlieb (Austria) 1996
1 Peter Müller (Switzerland) 1987
1 Pirmin Zurbriggen (Switzerland) 1985
1 Rudolf Rominger (Switzerland) 1936
1 Urs Lehmann (Switzerland) 1993

Ski World Championships - Most Successful Men's Downhill Nations

Golds Nation Years
16 Austria 1932 1935 1954 1956 1958 1962 1964 1974 1976 1978 1980 1982 1996 1999 2001 2003
11 Switzerland 1931 1933 1934 1936 1970 1972 1985 1987 1991 1993 1997
6 France 1937 1938 1948 1960 1966 1968
2 Canada 2009 2011
2 Germany 1939 1989
2 Italy 1950 1952
2 Norway 2007 2013
1 USA 2005

2013 Ski World Championships Men's Downhill Race

Aksel Lund Svindal claimed gold in Schladming to keep up his remarkable record in the World Championships, meaning he had won gold medals in events at each of the last 4 World Championships, following his golds in the downhill and giant slalom at Are, and in the super-combined in Val d'Isere and Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

2011 Ski World Championships Men's Downhill Race

Canadian Erik Guay won the downhill on the Kandahar course on an incredibly warm Saturday morning that suited the early starters before the slope warmed up. The 29 year old from Mont-Tremblant showed no signs of the troublesome back injury that had blighted his season to fly down the slope in 1 minute 58.41 seconds, 0.32 seconds ahead of Didier Cuche. The Kandahar slope at Garmisch-Partenkirchen held happy memories for Guay - his only previous downhill victory had been on this same slope back in February 2007. His gold also meant that the Downhill title remained in Canadian hands following John Kucera's victory in 2009 at Val d'Isere.

Warm temperatures had been affecting the World Championships but this was the first event when even overnight temperatures were struggling to stay below zero. By the time of the race start it was already 4 degrees up at 2000m and over 10 degrees down at the finish. The top section of the course remained icy but as more and more racers came down the conditions continued to warm up and the slope became slower. Guay took advantage of a decent bib number (10) and almost flawless run to record a time that only Cuche looked like he would get anywhere near. The veteran Swiss skier had been complaining about the start positions for the world's top downhill racers and he had a point, as all the big names came down in a block between bib 15 and bib 22. Cuche still nearly pulled off his first World Championship Downhill gold, but a couple of minor mistakes right at the end of the run possibly made the difference between silver and gold. It was his 2nd downhill silver in succession, and the 2nd time he'd missed out to a Canadian, having been pipped by John Kucera at the Val d'Isese Championships. Christof Innerhofer, skiing immediately before Guay, had set a great time and added the Bronze to the Gold he'd won in the Super G three days earlier. Britains only racer was TJ Baldwin who finished 38th, 8 seconds behind Guay.

Share Share