snowkings logo

Ski World Championships - Men's Super-G Champions

The list of winners of the Super-G since the event was first run in 1931 are as follows:

Year Venue Gold Silver Bronze
2017 St Moritz Erik Guay (Canada) Kjetil Jansrud (Norway) Manuel Osborne-Paradis (Canada)
2015 Vail/Beaver Creek Hannes Reichelt (Austria) Dustin Cook (USA) Adrien Théaux (France)
2013 Schaldming Ted Ligety (USA) Gauthier de Tessieres (France) Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway)
2011 Garmisch-Partenkirchen Christof Innerhofer (Italy)
2009 Val d'Isere Didier Cuche (Switzerland)
2007 Are Patrick Staudacher (Italy)
2005 Bormio Bode Miller (USA)
2003 St. Moritz Stephan Eberharter (Austria)
2001 St. Anton Daron Rahlves (USA)
1999 Vail Hermann Maier / Lasse Kjus (Austria) (Norway)
1997 Sestriere Atle Skårdal (Norway)
1996 Sierra Nevada Atle Skårdal (Norway)
1993 Morioka Race Cancelled
1991 Saalbach Stephan Eberharter (Austria)
1989 Vail Martin Hangl (Switzerland)
1987 Crans-Montana Pirmin Zurbriggen (Switzerland)
1985 Bormio No Super-G Event
1982 Schladming No Super-G Event
1980 Lake Placid No Super-G Event
1978 Garmisch No Super-G Event
1976 Innsbruck No Super-G Event
1974 St. Moritz No Super-G Event
1972 Sapporo No Super-G Event
1970 Val Gardena No Super-G Event
1968 Grenoble No Super-G Event
1966 Portillo No Super-G Event
1964 Innsbruck No Super-G Event
1962 Chamonix No Super-G Event
1960 Squaw Valley No Super-G Event
1958 Badgastein No Super-G Event
1956 Cortina No Super-G Event
1954 Åre No Super-G Event
1952 Oslo No Super-G Event
1950 Aspen No Super-G Event
1948 St. Moritz No Super-G Event
1939 Zakopane No Super-G Event
1938 Engelberg No Super-G Event
1937 Chamonix No Super-G Event
1936 Innsbruck No Super-G Event
1935 Mürren No Super-G Event
1934 St. Moritz No Super-G Event
1933 Innsbruck No Super-G Event
1932 Cortina No Super-G Event
1931 Mürren No Super-G Event

Ski World Championships - Most Successful Men's Super-G Skiers

Golds Skier Years
2 Atle Skårdal (Norway) 1996 1997
2 Stephan Eberharter (Austria) 1991 2003
1 Bode Miller (USA) 2005
1 Christof Innerhofer (Italy) 2011
1 Daron Rahlves (USA) 2001
1 Didier Cuche (Switzerland) 2009
1 Erik Guay (Canada) 2017
1 Hannes Reichelt (Austria) 2015
1 Hermann Maier (Austria) 1999
1 Lasse Kjus (Norway) 1999
1 Martin Hangl (Switzerland) 1989
1 Patrick Staudacher (Italy) 2007
1 Pirmin Zurbriggen (Switzerland) 1987
1 Ted Ligety (USA) 2013

Ski World Championships - Most Successful Men's Super-G Nations

Golds Nation Years
4 Austria 1991 1999 2003 2015
3 Norway 1996 1997 1999
3 Switzerland 1987 1989 2009
3 USA 2001 2005 2013
2 Italy 2007 2011
1 Canada 2007 2017

2011 Ski World Championships - Men's Super-G Race

26 year old Italian Christof Innerhofer was the surprise winner of the 2011 Super-G on an incredibly icy and bumpy Kandahar course. The Sudtirol skier was almost faultless down the course, completing it in 1:38.31, 0.60 seconds ahead of Austrian Hannes Reichelt, who'd won the World Cup Super G just 4 days before in Hinterstoder. The World Cup overall leader Ivica Kostelic maintained his red-hot form into the World Championships by claiming the final place on the podium with a brave run in one of his least favourite events. Reigning champion from the 2009 event in Val d'Isere was Didier Cuche, and the Swiss veteran made a decent effort to reclaim the title but finished just out of the medals in 4th, 1.03 seconds behind Innerhofer. Austrian legend Benni Raich completed the top 5 positions a further 0.31 behind Cuche. American Bode Miller was flying down the course and looked good for gold but caught his ski pole on one of the gates and had to ski the remainder of the Kandahar course with just one pole. Incredibly, despite clearly having his balance affected he proceeded to increase his lead at the split times before making a mistake at one of the final turns. He then stood up and casually coasted over the final section but still finished 12th, leaving his fans wondering what might have been.

Share Share